Our social:

Latest Post

Showing posts with label romantic suspense. Show all posts
Showing posts with label romantic suspense. Show all posts

Monday, November 7, 2016

The Second Man by Emelle Gamble- Feature, Review + Author Interview



ABOUT THE BOOK:

Jill Farrell’s college reunion is coming up, but she wants no part of it. The man she once loved, Swedish exchange student Max Kallstrom, is rumored to be attending, but that doesn’t tempt her as Max disappeared from her life the night before the graduation, and has never been heard from since.

When her ex-husband, Andrew Denton, knocks on her door and announces he wants to make nice, and, “oh, by the way, one of their class alumni might be a murderer”, Jill’s resolve to avoid the event hardens.

Jill shuts Andrew’s efforts to reconnect down, and tries to put Max out of her mind.
And that’s that, until a second man knocks on her door, and the emotions of a time long ago overtakes her. Max Kallstrom tells Jill she’s the reason he has come to California. He asks her to please let him explain why she hasn’t heard from him for fifteen long years.

She’s willing to listen to what he has to say, but immediately realizes that her memories must guide her through a wrenching and dangerous few days. While her heart remembers a handsome young lover, she and her classmates are all different people now, and the reality of a murdered friend proves she can’t trust everyone.

What’s not so clear is if she should trust anyone . . . especially Max Kallstrom.

READ A SAMPLE:

 


INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR:

I am so lucky to have the chance to interview author Emelle Gamble today at The Book Review! 

So, please give her a warm welcome!


What is the hardest thing about writing?  Easiest thing?
The hardest thing for writing for me is living. HA! I want to write so much I could literally sit in my office for 12 hours a day. Now, don’t think I would be churning out 15 books a year – that would never be me. I think and rethink, and do it all over again, but I love the research, the drafts, the push to completion. Love it like no other career I have or have ever had outside of writing.

The easiest thing? Starting a new book. I always have a title, an clear overview of the point of the story, and an ending. It’s all those hundreds of pages of a polished novel that are hard.

Plotter or Panster?
I always plot. Outline, list of items, reviews. Seldom stay exactly on course. I am undisciplined enough to let my characters run away with the story from time to time. But I always know the ending. Just not always sure how I’m going to make it there.

Besides romantic suspense, what other genres to write?
I write women’s fiction, too, and feel my tagline ‘ordinary women in extraordinary circumstances’ is the common thread in all my work. It’s based on Alfred Hitchcock’s comments that the common man, caught in an unusual situation, is always interesting. I have also recently completed a pure mystery, set in 1951 Los Angeles. I anticipate it will be a three-book series. I love it – stretching my wings and harkening back to my first love as a reader, which was Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden.

Where can readers contact you?
Website: www.EmelleGamble.com
Twitter: @Emelle Gamble
Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Emelle-Gamble/e/B00DXZ2SJA

Do you have favorite quote you would like share?

It’s from The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. “A goal without a plan is just a dream.” It is what I tell all the people who over the years have told me how much they want to write, but don’t know where to start. I think it fits for all of us for any treasured hope – make a plan, and then put one foot in front of the other and walk toward it.


Thank you for hosting me today, Julie! I love all that you do for authors and readers on your blog, in reviews, and on Goodreads! I hope your readers will sign up for my newsletter and follow me on Amazon and Facebook – let’s get to know each other! 

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview!!



MY REVIEW:



The Second ManThe Second Man by Emelle Gamble
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Second Man by Emelle Gamble is a 2016 Soul Mate publication.

This is the way romantic suspense should be written!

The Second Man starts off with a bang… literally! From there the suspense and edginess increases, making it next to impossible to relax, much less breathe.

Jill Farrell’s college class reunion is coming up, but she has no desire to attend, even after rumors begin to swirl that her old college sweetheart, Max, is planning on making an appearance. Her resolve only deepens when her ex-husband, Andrew, shows up out of the blue weaving outlandish tales about one of their old college alumni being a murderer.



But, when she finds herself face to face with Max again, and he offers her a reasonable explanation for why he pulled a disappearing act all those years ago, Jill begins to have second thoughts about the reunion... and Max.

Jill and Max had fallen head over heels in love back in college, but an accident left Max with severe memory loss. Now Jill is working to help Max recover some of his lost memories. But, in the meantime, Jill learns one of their old classmates has been murdered, and Andrew had fingered Max as suspect number one.



Who should Jill believe? Who can she trust? Could there be a murderer amongst them?





Romantic suspense is one of my very favorite genres, but I’ve been neglecting it of late. Suddenly, I realized I had a strong craving for a good, old fashioned novel of suspense and I must say, I could not have chosen a better book to satisfy that craving than this one!

Not only is this a traditional romantic suspense novel, the type I prefer over all others, but it could very easily fall into the psychological thriller category, as well.


The author uses the approach so often employed these days in modern psychological suspense novels, which keeps the reader totally in the dark, ratcheting up the suspense until I was literally on the edge of my seat, totally engaged in the plot, wringing my hands with concern for Jill, who could be in grave danger, if she decides to trust the wrong person!!




This is romantic suspense the way I like it. The suspense is well balanced with the romantic elements, the pacing is quick, the atmosphere is edgy, the dialogue is realistic, and the twists are well placed within a unique plot.

I think any fan of romantic suspense will enjoy this book! Highly recommend!




GET YOUR COPY HERE: 

https://www.amazon.com/Second-Man-Emelle-Gamble-ebook/dp/B01K7WK3LG/

https://www.amazon.com/Second-Man-Emelle-Gamble/dp/1682911896/

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Emelle Gamble was a writer at an early age, bursting with the requisite childhood stories of introspection which evolved into bad teen poetry and attempts at 'real literature' all copies of which she has since, very sensibly, shredded. She took her first stab at romantic fiction in an adult education writing class when her kids were in bed, taught by fellow writer Carolyn Haines, in Mobile, Alabama. As M.L. Gamble, she published several romantic suspense novels with Harlequin. She is now contracted with Soul Mate Publishing for Secret Sister, summer of 2013, and Dating Cary Grant, an early 2014 release.

Always intrigued by the words ‘what if’, Emelle’s books feature an ordinary woman confronted with an extraordinary situation. She most enjoys reading stories that surprise and amaze her, and hopes her readers will enjoy the challenging and exciting journeys her characters take.

Emelle lives in suburban Washington D.C. with her husband, Phil, her hero of thirty years, and two orange cats, Lucy and Bella. Her daughter, Olivia, and son, Allen, are happily launched on their own and contributing great things to society, which has always been their mother’s fondest wish.

http://emellegamble.com/welcome/index...

Monday, October 10, 2016

Sting by Sandra Brown- Feature and Review



ABOUT THE BOOK:

When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her. 

As Shaw and his partner take aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. But Shaw has other plans and abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen and, presumably, hidden. However, Shaw is not the only one looking for the fortune. Her brother's ruthless boss and the FBI are after it as well. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits-and each other-to stay alive. 

Miles away from civilization and surrounded by swampland, the two play each other against their common enemies. Jordie's only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but it soon becomes clear to Shaw that Jordie isn't entirely trustworthy, either. Was she in on her brother's scam, or is she an innocent pawn in a deadly vendetta? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw, her remorseless and manipulative captor? Burning for answers-and for each other-this unlikely pair ultimately make a desperate move that could be their last.

With nonstop plot twists and the tantalizing sexual tension that has made Sandra Brown one of the world's best-loved authors, STING will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final pages.

#1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Sandra Brown jolts the reader from the first page of this heart-pounding story of corruption, treachery, and ceaseless deception . . .where nothing is what it seems and every truth brought to light exposes a darker lie.


WATCH THE BOOK TRAILER:






LISTEN TO AN EXCERPT:

MY REVIEW:

 

StingSting by Sandra Brown
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sting by Sandra Brown in a 2016 Grand Central Publication.


You gotta love Sandra Brown’s consistency! Sting is another solid and quintessential romantic suspense novel from Brown, whose stories have kept me on the edge of my seat for decades.


Jordie Bennett is a successful business woman, but is still living in the dark shadow cast by her brother, Josh, which is how she winds up being kidnapped by Shaw Kinnard, a man hired by a powerful criminal to kill Jordie.

But, before he completes his mission, he needs vital information from Jordie concerning Josh’s whereabouts, which of course all centers around an incredibly large amount of money only Josh has access to. But, Jordie is one tough nut to crack, refusing to budge, always looking for a way to escape, giving the hardened Shaw a workout of epic proportions, and sparking a weird, twisted, and smoking hot chemistry between them in the process.





Will Shaw kill Jordie and collect his 2 million dollars, not passing go, or will he try to outsmart Josh, and earn a much larger booty…. Or is there more going on here than meets the eye?





Going solely on the book title, I knew going in this was going to be a complex tale and that nothing would be as it appeared on the surface, and I was not surprised, or disappointed, in how things played out. I loved the sharp dialogue between Jordie and Shaw, and the non-stop action, Brown’s trademark plot twists, and of course the steamy romance, but I thought the family drama was the most thought provoking aspects of the novel, and certainly gave me something to mull over and chew on for a while. I thought it made an interesting character study and added a great deal of depth to the standard romantic suspense story, that would have passed muster without the juxtaposition between Jordie and Josh.

So, overall, this is yet another wildly entertaining thriller by one of the best RS authors out there, and frankly, I don’t think you can go wrong here.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Sting-Sandra-Brown-ebook/dp/B01FQLZSPY/


http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sting-sandra-brown/1116856215



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sandra Brown is the author of more than sixty New York Times bestsellers, including FRICTION (2015), MEAN STREAK (2014), DEADLINE(2013), LOW PRESSURE (2012), LETHAL (2011), & TOUGH CUSTOMER (2010).

Brown began her writing career in 1981 and since then has published over seventy novels, bringing the number of copies of her books in print worldwide to upwards of eighty million. Her work has been translated into over thirty languages.

In 2009 Brown detoured from romantic suspense to write, Rainwater, a much acclaimed, powerfully moving historical fiction story about honor and sacrifice during the Great Depression.

Brown was given an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Texas Christian University. She was named Thriller Master for 2008, the top award given by the International Thriller Writer’s Association. Other awards and commendations include the 2007 Texas Medal of Arts Award for Literature and the Romance Writers of America’s Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Safe from Harm by Kate Serine- Release Blast + Giveaway


Elle realizes she’s losing her heart to a man 
who will risk it all to keep her safe from harm.


SAFE FROM HARM
Protect & Serve #2
Kate SeRine
Releasing Oct 4th, 2016
Sourcebooks


There’s something about prosecuting attorney Elle McCoy that Deputy Gabe Dawson just can’t get enough of. Even with Gabe’s family legacy in law enforcement and promising career, Elle’s smart, sassy rejection of all his charm makes Gabe want her even more.

But Gabe’s confidence is shaken when he’s shot on the steps of the courthouse, protecting Elle from a terrorist intent on revenge. Worse, Elle isn’t out of danger yet. But as they race to counter the terrorist’s next move, Gabe determines to prove to Elle—and himself—that he’s a man worthy of her.







“Well, you’d better get going,” Gabe grumbled. “Don’t want to miss your ride.”
Elle took a few steps forward, coming to the side of his hospital bed. “I’m going. But first, I wanted to make one thing very clear to you, Gabe Dawson.”
“Yeah?” he said. “What’s that?”
She narrowed her eyes and leaned over him, caging him with her arms on either side of his head. “Don’t you ever again treat me like I’m some delicate flower who can’t handle the truth.”
Damn.
Having her that close was tempting as hell. For the first time, he noticed she had tiny flecks of gold in her eyes and a few more freckles on the bridge of her nose than he’d realized. God, she was beautiful—stunning, really. He had to muster all his willpower not to drag her into his arms and kiss the full lips that were currently pursed in irritation. But he forced himself to meet her gaze and lifted a single brow.
“Oh, I know you’re no delicate flower,” he said, his voice going deeper, betraying the effect of her nearness and giving his words a weight he hadn’t intended.
Her cheeks went a little pink, but she didn’t back away. “We’re in this together, whether we like it or not. And I’m not going to be kept in the dark just because I’m not a cop.”
“Oh, I don’t know,” he said, not bothering to suppress the grin tugging at his mouth. “You might like being in the dark with me, Elle.”
She blinked, her mouth opening and closing as if she wanted to say something more but was clearly speechless. Then she pressed her lips together and gave him a frustrated look. “You know what I meant, Gabe.”
At this, the little devil on his shoulder got the better of him, and he chuckled, letting his gaze drop down to those gorgeous lips. “Yeah, I know what you meant, Elle. Doesn’t change what I meant.”
When she didn’t immediately pull away at his advance, he took a chance and reached up, gently taking hold of her chin and guiding her lips down to his. But before he could make contact, she suddenly broke away from his tender grasp and straightened, staring down at him with a look of confusion and panic in her eyes.
Okay, well, that wasn’t exactly the reaction he’d been hoping for…
“I have to go,” she breathed. But she didn’t take a single step. “I really… I should go.”
He met her gaze, waiting, wondering at her next move. “You sure?”
She licked her lips, looking as if she was truly torn between going and staying. But then she lifted her chin, giving him that defiant look he’d grown so used to seeing from her. “Yes, I’m absolutely positive.”
Without another word, she turned on her heel and strode toward the door without so much as a glance over her shoulder.

But the little exchange was enough to offer Gabe the encouragement he needed. Maybe the brilliant, beautiful, iron-willed woman wasn’t quite as unaffected by him as she wanted him to believe…






BUY NOW
Amazon | B & N | Google | iTunes | Kobo

Start the series from the beginning...



Kate SeRine (pronounced “serene”) is a hopeless romantic who firmly believes in true love that lasts forever. So it's no surprise that when she began writing her own stories, Kate vowed her characters would always have a happily ever after.

Kate lives in a smallish, quintessentially Midwestern town with her husband and two sons, who share her love of storytelling. She never tires of creating new worlds to share and is even now working on her next project—probably while consuming way too much coffee.

Kate is also the author of the award-winning Transplanted Tales paranormal romance series and the Protect & Serve romantic suspense series.

Connect with Kate at www.kateserine.com, Facebook.com/kateserine, or on Twitter @KateSeRine. 



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, October 2, 2016

Girl in the Water by Dana Marton- Pre- Order Blast Sale- 30% Off! + Feature and Review


ABOUT THE BOOK:

He doesn't mind breaking rules, just never his own. Rule #1: You don't seduce the woman you protect. 

After the death of his wife and twin sons, Army vet Ian Slaney is a shadow of his former self. On the path of self-destruction, only his best friend's disappearance in South America pulls Ian back from the ledge. He rushes to Brazil, only to discover that his friend was murdered. The single lead in the case is also the single biggest obstacle--Daniela, a mysterious beauty very much in need of protection, with a host of secrets hidden in a dark past. As the two of them track down clues and try to untangle an impossible case, they draw the attention of all the wrong people, and danger follows them back to the US. 

Ian wants the murderers. Daniela wants Ian to acknowledge the hot sparks of passion between them. But convincing Ian to set aside his protective instincts proves more difficult than teaching a water buffalo to tap dance. 


TAKE YOURSELF ON AN EPIC ROMANTIC ADVENTURE to another world, with a spellbinding story about love and hate, honor and evil, hope and justice set against the exotic backdrop of the teeming Amazon rain forest.



PRE-ORDER NOW AND GET A 30% DISCOUNT!




GET YOUR COPY HERE:






GIRL IN THE WATER
Excerpt: 

A couple of boats had been dragged up on the flat of the riverbank. Nobody around. Ian sat in the shade of the largest boat and pretended to be watching the barges and tugboats going past him. 

He stole a glance at the house, hoping to spot Finch. Nothing there, but something rising out of the water maybe thirty feet from him caught his attention. 

At first, he thought it might be a caiman—South America’s version of an alligator. Caimans were native to the area, although, he had no idea if they lived in this part of this particular river. 

But instead, out of the river, rose a young woman. 

She seemed to be struggling withan anaconda? 

When the shiny black, long body wrapped around hers, Ian moved, ready to dive into the water to help her, but she had the upper hand and dragged the wriggling beast toward shore with a triumphant smile, and he could see that she had a giant eel. 

He couldn’t take his eyes off the thing. The eel stretched as long as the woman was tall, over five feet. They wrestled in the mud, the scene stunningly primal and elemental. 

She had a piece of rag tied around her small breasts, and another around her slim waist, covering only the private parts of her body. She was the most stunning sight he’d ever seen, long dark hair streaming down in wet rivulets. A goddess risen. 

A goddess in mortal struggle. 

His western sensibilities pushed him to run and help, but the woman and the eel and their battle seemed somehow the spirit of the Amazon itself, and he felt like an interloper. He felt that he couldn’t take the woman’s triumph away from her. 

And she did win, dragging the eel to shore, grabbing a rock the next second and smashing the eel’s head. The eel was still squirming when, with the same, sharp-edged rock, she gutted the thing, dumping the insides back into the river. She was not a peaceful goddess. 

She washed the eel efficiently, then picked up the carcass and carried it, staggering under the weight, up the tall, steep bank, and in through the back door of the house Ian had been watching. 

Ian’s chin might have dropped a little. Or a lot. In fact, he felt as if his chin just hit his lap. 

Who on earth was she?



MY REVIEWS:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Girl in the Water by Dana Marton is a 2016 publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have read Dana Marton’s romantic suspense novels for some time now, and always enjoyed them. But, her latest releases have taken on a different tone, by becoming grittier, faster paced, and more adventurous, featuring exotic locales and emotional love stories.

This story is set in Brazil, and features the beautiful Daniela, who was forced at an early age to do whatever it took to survive in the Amazon. Her luck changes when Finch takes her in, but then the worst happens and she must once again fend for herself…

Until Ian Slaney arrives, searching for his friend, Finch, only to find he’s been murdered. Once Daniela explains the situation, Ian realizes she is in danger, and takes her under his wing.

While life is much improved for Daniela, she yearns to prove she is capable, independent, and smart enough to work alongside Ian on his missions. She also wants to prove to Ian, she is not just his ward, or like a sister or daughter

She is a grown woman and the two of them are perfect together.

Ian lost his wife and twin sons and has blamed himself ever since. When he finds Daniela he only wants to take her away from the harsh circumstances she has been subjected to and give her a real chance in life. He never allowed himself to think of her in any other way.

But, when a baby is kidnapped, Daniela’s experience and knowledge of Brazil makes her the perfect person for the job.

Despite Ian’s misgivings, the two return to the Amazon to find the missing infant and search for clues regarding the murder of Ian’s friend. This is Daniela’s chance to show Ian what she’s capable of, professionally and personally.

‘He had a heart, but he refused to acknowledge it. As she locked away her past, Ian had locked away his heart. The difference was that her past had to be locked away. The past was a ballast around her neck, dragging her down to drown. And Daniela wanted to fly. She wanted to live the life Ian had promised her, being anything she wanted to be, because everything was possible. She could live without her past. She was better off without her past. But Ian couldn’t live without his heart.’


Can Ian open his heart up to Daniela or will he send her away to live her own life without him?
This story has a lot going on, with Finch’s murder to solve, and with the case involving the kidnapped baby. There are several big surprise twists, the action and pacing is brisk. I enjoyed seeing Daniela mature and have a normal life. Naturally, she is wiser than her years, and is very intuitive. She knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to go after it.

Ian is a bit of an enigma. On one hand, I admired his treatment of Daniela and found it appropriate to the circumstances. I think she needed to know that kind of unconditional love. But, he could also be obtuse, which was frustrating. He was very hard to convince and of course, he had to learn his lessons the hard way.
This love story is unconventional and I applaud the darker tones, which makes the outcome more rewarding.

Overall, this is a solid romantic suspense novel, with a unique plot line and an absorbing story filled with danger and intrigue, and is highly recommended to fans of this genre.

4 stars





 Social Media Links:
Website:  https://danamarton.com/   sign up for her newsletter and get a FREE ebook!
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/DanaMarton
Twitter:   @DanaMarton
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/danamarton



Dana Marton Author Bio:
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Dana Marton has thrilled and entertained millions of readers around the globe with her fast-paced stories about strong women and honorable men who fight side by side for justice and survival.
Kirkus Reviews calls her writing “compelling and honest.” RT Book Review Magazine said, “Marton knows what makes a heroher characters are sure to become reader favorites.” Her writing has been acclaimed by critics, called, “gripping,” “intense and chilling,” “full of action,” “a thrilling adventure,” and wholeheartedly recommended to readers. Dana is the winner of the Daphne du Maurier Award of Excellence, the Readers’ Choice Award, and Best Intrigue, among other awards. Her book, TALL, DARK, AND LETHAL was nominated for the prestigious Rita Award. DEATHSCAPE reached the #1 spot on Amazon’s Romantic Suspense Bestseller list.  FLASH FIRE won the RITA for Romantic Suspense.
Dana has a Master’s degree in Writing Popular Fiction, and is continuously studying the art and craft of writing, attending several workshops, seminars and conferences each year. Her number one goal is to bring the best books she possibly can to her readers.
Keeping in touch with readers is Dana’s favorite part of being an author. Please connect with her via her web site (www.danamarton.com) or her Facebook page (www.facebook.com/danamarton).
Having lived around the world, Dana currently creates her compelling stories in a small and lovely little town in Pennsylvania. The fictional town of her bestselling Broslin Creek series is based on her real life home where she fights her addictions to reading, garage sales, coffee and chocolate. If you know a good twelve-step program to help her with any of that, she’d be interested in hearing about it!  
***Visit Dana’s website to read the first chapters of her books!

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Unbound Pursuit by Lindsay McKenna- Book Blast + Giveaway


As Wyatt plans a dangerous operation to catch the drug dealers, 
Tal fears she could lose the man she loves.


UNBOUND PURSUIT
DELOS Series 2B1
Lindsay McKenna
Releasing Sept 29, 2016
Blue Turtle Publishing


You met Tal and Wyatt's in Tangled Pursuit, book 2 in the Delos Series. Read their continued story.

Captain Talia Culver risked her heart again for Navy SEAL Wyatt Lockwood. The brave, cocky Texan was worth the risk and Talia couldn’t be happier. Still recovering from injuries she received from her last mission in Afghanistan, Wyatt whisks her away to meet his family on their sprawling Texas ranch. But things don’t go as planned when Wyatt hears the local gossip that his drug dealing ex-friend is out of prison and planning a drug run across the Lockwood ranch. Wyatt wants to enjoy some hard-earned down time with Tal, but he can’t ignore the danger at his backdoor.

As Wyatt plans a dangerous operation to catch the drug dealers, Tal fears she could lose the man she loves.
BUY NOW
Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo

See how it all began in Tangled Pursuit



Lindsay McKenna lives her life as a risk taker, and it shines through the books she loves to write: romance, adventure and suspense. She started writing at age thirteen and continues to hone her writing skills to this day. She sold her first romance novel in 1981. The rest is history.

Because she went into the military, this experience became the backbone of her writing—she is credited with writing the first military romance novel (Captive of Fate, 1983, Silhouette Special Edition) and has created a thriving sub-genre within the romance field! As a New York Times Best Selling author, she has sold 23 million books and in 32 foreign languages in her career thus far. Her many experiences in the U.S. Navy are backdrop for her understanding of the military in general, and also her very successful Morgan’s Mercenaries, which is an ongoing series in Silhouette to this day! Forty-five books strong!

Lindsay has gone Indie in 2015 and has created a new family saga on par with Morgan’s Mercenaries It is known as the DELOS SERIES. There will be paperback and eBooks created under Blue Turtle Publishing, her company for her fans. Readers who love Morgan and his family are bound to fall in love with the Culver family. Delos is romantic suspense, which Lindsay is well known for. It took her five years to create and bring DELOS to her readers. It was worth the wait, but we’ll let you decide that.

Lindsay loves to hear from her readers and loves to know what they’d like to see her write next. Stay up with the latest on the Delos Series here. Please visit her Web site at www.lindsaymckenna.com. And be sure to sign up for her free quarterly newsletter. It contains exclusive content found nowhere else on the Net. Plus, giveaways and other surprises, to her loyal and faithful subscribers!




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, September 16, 2016

Hidden Gems and Buried Treasures: Switch by Sandra Brown- Feature and Review


While The Book Review tries to help promote new releases, there are so many wonderful books out there yet to be discovered and enjoyed, I decided to start the weekly  Hidden Gems & Buried Treasures feature.  Each week, The Book Review will feature a spotlight and review of a book, from a variety of genres, that is at least five years old.  Some may be rare, out of print, or not yet available in electronic book format, while others will hopefully help draw attention to the author's latest release or upcoming title.


This week's Hidden Gem is Switch by Sandra Brown:


ABOUT THE BOOK:

Identical twins Melina and Gillian Lloyd haven't considered switching places since childhood. So when Melina proposes that Gillian take her place as a media escort to NASA astronaut Col. "Chief" Hart, she refuses...at first. The following morning Melina receives terrible news: her sister has been brutally murdered-and Chief, though innocent, is the prime suspect. He and Melina are determined to find the killer, a megalomaniac whose horrific schemes require Gillian's replacement, her identical twin-Melina.

READ AN EXCERPT:






MY REVIEW:






The SwitchThe Switch by Sandra Brown
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Switch by Sandra Brown is a 2013 Grand Central Publication. I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book was originally published back in 2000 but was reissued by Grand Central a few years ago. I have read many of Sandra Brown’s romantic suspense novels, but this one slipped by me somehow.

The temptation identical twins have to switch places with one another usually loses its novelty by the time they reach adulthood. However, when Gillian announces to her twin sister, Melina, that she has been just been artificially inseminated, Melina offers to let her take her place on a public relations gig for the famous astronaut Col. ‘Chief’ Hart, in order to give her something fun to do, to take her mind off waiting to see if she was pregnant.

The switch should have been harmless, but when Gillian is murdered, Melina knows it should have been her that died, which makes her determined to find out who killed her sister and make them pay. Unfortunately, Chief was the last person to see Gillian alive, which lands him right in the middle of the investigation. Working together, he and Melina uncover a shocking scenario with far reaching consequences, and that discovery puts a huge bullseye on their backs.

This was one wild story, I have to tell you. Multi-layered, with lots of hairpin turns, twists, and truly diabolical bad guys, this one held my attention all the way through. Now, I have to confess, the plot was pretty far out there in terms of plausibility, but the story read like a top-notch thriller, and thrillers are not always known for their high levels of plausibility.

I did guess at a few major plot twists, but, it did not impact my enjoyment of the book. Overall, this was an interesting and unique set up, quite imaginative, taut with suspense and a steamy romance to cap things off.

This one was not exactly what I was expecting when I picked it up, but I was entertained by it and reminded of why I love to read Brown’s novels.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Switch-Sandra-Brown-ebook/dp/B00BEK6ZSG/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-switch-sandra-brown/1004099940


DON'T MISS SANDRA BROWN'S LATEST HIGH OCTANE THRILLER:



When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her. 

As Shaw and his partner take aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. But Shaw has other plans and abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen and, presumably, hidden. However, Shaw is not the only one looking for the fortune. Her brother's ruthless boss and the FBI are after it as well. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits-and each other-to stay alive. 

Miles away from civilization and surrounded by swampland, the two play each other against their common enemies. Jordie's only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but it soon becomes clear to Shaw that Jordie isn't entirely trustworthy, either. Was she in on her brother's scam, or is she an innocent pawn in a deadly vendetta? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw, her remorseless and manipulative captor? Burning for answers-and for each other-this unlikely pair ultimately make a desperate move that could be their last.

With nonstop plot twists and the tantalizing sexual tension that has made Sandra Brown one of the world's best-loved authors, STING will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final pages.

GET YOUR COPY HERE:

https://www.amazon.com/Sting-Sandra-Brown-ebook/dp/B01FQLZSPY/


STAY TUNED FOR A FULL FEATURE HERE AT THE BOOK REVIEW FOR STING!! 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sandra Brown is the author of more than sixty New York Times bestsellers, including FRICTION (2015), MEAN STREAK (2014), DEADLINE(2013), LOW PRESSURE (2012), LETHAL (2011), & TOUGH CUSTOMER (2010).

Brown began her writing career in 1981 and since then has published over seventy novels, bringing the number of copies of her books in print worldwide to upwards of eighty million. Her work has been translated into over thirty languages.

In 2009 Brown detoured from romantic suspense to write, Rainwater, a much acclaimed, powerfully moving historical fiction story about honor and sacrifice during the Great Depression.

Brown was given an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Texas Christian University. She was named Thriller Master for 2008, the top award given by the International Thriller Writer’s Association. Other awards and commendations include the 2007 Texas Medal of Arts Award for Literature and the Romance Writers of America’s Lifetime Achievement Award.